Check out our reading for this week!

One thing that really stood out to me in this reading was the following quote, “by separating learning from ‘authentic’ activity grounded in physical and social contexts and situations, formal education largely defeats its goal of promoting ‘useable, robust knowledge.” I think that the preface for this statement is very much rooted in old school teaching techniques. I agree that education in the past has been very much segregated from, “authentic” activities rooted in social context. I also think that there has been a really big push in this area and a ton of growth has been happening in schools. Even as a teacher who got my teaching license recently and has only been teaching for 3 years, I was exposed to a lot of, “old school teaching techniques” in my student teaching. As a first and second year teacher some of the teachers I work with are still very worksheet based/separation oriented in their teaching style. I love to see and work with teachers who push themselves to develop in order to make this classrooms more usable and robust for our students. I think the remix of education that is currently happening is inspirational and I am excited to see everyone get on board!

Another big learning for me was the idea that, “Activity, concept, and culture are interdependent.” I have in my teaching and learning over this course and others have already gained a lot of insight into this. Seeing it in the text presented in this manner I think really drove the point home for me though. I really think learning should be so multifaceted that all three components are present. As the text states one cannot stand alone without the others. In order to get truly meaningful learning activity, concept, and culture all need to be present. The idea that learning concepts are linear and fixed in not accurate when working with kids. Showing examples or reading from a book does not create the diverse learning which we hope our students can access. In order to get away from these fixed practices we as educators must address all three aspects of learning. The shift in learning needs to ensure that lessons are addressing means, contexts, and generate knowledge.

I also found the three related factors of social learning to be very interesting. I had not previously made explicit connections to these things and social learning until reading this chapter. The first factor was a nice inclusion of developments in social learning and what changes needed to preface these concepts. The increased need of knowledge for all different skill level positions was something that stood out to me. In order to compete with job outsourcing and increase in competitive edge working citizens had to increase knowledge and furthermore make learning a lifelong process in order to stay current. Along with this increase in knowledge and skill there were increases in complexity and need for everyday systems. Increased in rigor of competition and expectation lead to need for better systems in order to keep business functioning. The min connection that stood out to me here was the need to people to be able to recognize these systems and be able to participate and operate within them. And finally technology is a factor in social learning. As technology continues to advance and connect more and more people the impact of social learning continues to increase. These technologies make way for a plethora of diverse contexts and opportunity for multifaceted learning using a medium that students are already invested in.

So much to consider from just one reading! Want to see more great learning and response to this chapter check out #ds106 and #ILT5340.

 

