Piggybacking off of my article from last week I chose to focus this week on ways to distress your life. I chose an article titled relaxation techniques. I really think that having skills necessary to reduce stress can help make you more successful in other areas of your life. While this piece of writing aims more towards college students I think it can be applicable to everyone!

The portion I found to be the most helpful was the discussion about different types of relaxation techniques.

One form of relaxation is autogenic training. This techniques utilizes visualization and body awareness to help move a person to deep relaxation. When using this technique you visualize somewhere calming and focus on different body parts for example, your limbs, breathing, or calm heartbeat. I really liked this techniques because it is something that you can quickly and easily take a break and do.

The next relaxation technique is breathing. Simple right! To accomplish this one hand needs to be placed on your chest while the other is placed on your belly. Take a deep big breath in and slowly exhale. While you do this focus on the movement of your body and hands.

This article also talks about utilizing progressive muscle relaxation. This involves tensing and releasing each muscle group individually. You start with your toes and work all the way up to your neck and head. I can imagine now having calming music on and taking a few minutes to do this. I am one of those people who holds all of my stress in my muscles. I often and clenching my muscles and do not even realize it. Something like this could distress and relax me and my muscles!

The next tool they talk about it meditation. As meditation is such a prevalent thing in our culture now I am not going to spend a lot of time talking about this.

Last but not least this article introduces guided imagery. This involves listening to a recording or therapist voice while they guide you to a state of relaxation. When completely relaxed the state of mind that you are in can help you to have revelations related to emotions health and spiritual well being. I have never personally tried this but it sounds interesting. Some shortcomings I see are that it may not be something you can do without help or immediately. This would also be more time consuming and require the proper environment (quiet, peaceful, clean) to be successful. I think if you could pull this off it would be a fantastic way to accomplish deep relaxation.

This article then goes on to in a nutshell identify the reasons you should use relaxation techniques, how they work, what to watch out for, and practicality of doing it on your own. I love the straightforward and easy to use nature of this. If you are already stressed it’s a great quick reference to use for advice. As I am buying and moving into a new house next week I may need to try one of these! Next time you’re feeling stressed or overwhelmed maybe one of these techniques can help make life manageable again!

 

Check out more great learning  #ds106 and #ILT5340!

