Check out our weekly reading!

I think a big takeaway for me was how multifaceted blogging really is. It is so multidimensional as opposed to simple text or journals. As stated in this chapter blogging is complex because, “of the capabilities offered by hypertext. New affordances include textual connections with others on and offline; the facility to comment on others’ blog posts and the possibility of replying to comments on one’s own; hyperlinks to information sources; site meters which monitor “visits” from others; RSS feeds, which alert subscribed readers to other newly updated sites; the facility to embed other texts within one’s own and the possibility of including a range of modalities, from audio podcasts to video streams.” This diverse blogging world creates opportunity for people to share and remix ideas and concepts in a new and highly effective manner. With the ability to share and collaborate in such a highly impactful way, I can only imagine the impact this will have on us culturally. That being said having and being highly fluent is these skills and practices will be imperative for future generations to be effective as adults.  

In traditional academic literature, publication of concepts and work can be a very rigorous process. As such many people ideas/works are not published due to the high demand of academic standards. Having blogging as an outlet is a great way for people to get their ideas and work out there in order to collaborate on them and improve. I love the open source feel and collaborative process blogging brings to the academic scene. Blogging give consumers and producers a chance to create and collaborate on something that might otherwise be impossible. Blogging can also be an outlet for academic sound off/production in which the writer can use different voice and personality not generally used in academic publications.

One insight I had from this week’s reading was in relation to the emergence of a blogger identity. The chapter discloses that through blogging we represent the symbolic relationship of different aspects of ourselves. When you partake in blogging it is a two way street in which both bloggers are participating in their self-disclosure. This really got me thinking about two things. First what is my blogger identity? And second how is my identity shaped by my interactions within my class? I think it is hard for me to really determine what my blogger identity is as it is still forming. I would be interested to see what others answers would be though! As for my classes effect on my blogging identity, I do often reflect and think about my classmates seeing my work before publishing. I wonder how people balance their professional and personal blogging personalities.

Another thing I found to be interesting in this article was the idea that, “texts have to be understood in the context of their conditions of production and reading.” Any single text can be read many different ways based on biases and context. Couple that with the fact that readers of a blog have so many choices on how to read a blog. It is nearly impossible to ensure readers actually are reading within the context of production. When a reader goes to read a blog they may or may not click on links that offer background knowledge. Readers may not have read previous blogs related to that topic in which the writer sets up information or voice on a topic. Readers may not explore additional resources on the blog page that could help understand purpose and voice of the author. As such the capacity for diverse interpretations and remix on blogging is far more widespread than that of traditional texts.

 

Check out more great insights into our learning #ds106 and #ILT5340!

