Check out our reading for this week!

One of the biggest insights from this reading came from the following quote, “This is a matter of knowing some-thing about their goals and aims and purposes; their tools and how they use them; the knowledge they draw on and seek to obtain in crafting their pro-duction to a personally satisfying level of expertise; the values and standards they recognize as relevant to good practice.” from an educator stand point I often try to understand my students motivations and goals. Most of the time this context is in relation to behavior, writing, art math and so on. This quote really opened my eyes to the application to technology and digital storytelling.  Understanding purpose, prior knowledge and crafting of students digital creations is imperative in the way understanding is in every other aspect of their education. Things that may seem silly of minute to me are important to my students for various reasons and I need to understand that as well as how I can integrate this into our learning. I think reading further and seeing this just affirmed everything I was already thinking, “Rather, they (readers of this text) want to be able to make meaningful and respectful connections to these practices; connections that will contribute to learning in ways that will enhance young people’s prospects of living well in the present and the future.” I think this is the overall goal of many educators!

After completing this reading I was curious about what embodiment/hands on engagement looks like for some educators compared to students today. I definitely agree with the text when it states that understanding of goals and aims of youth today in digital storied involves direct experience and work with those mediums. You need to go beyond and really experience it in order to have a sense of, “insider perspective” in order to relate and understand student motivations. I not only wonder what engagement looks like from teacher to student but also wonder how we can bridge that gap in order to find a common effective learning space. I can see how this may be easier in different scenarios but I am picturing an elementary setting. Student do not always have the knowhow or vocalization skills to help their teacher if they are struggling. If the teacher is someone who is not very technologically savvy I can see how that might be intimidating for them. How do we as educators bridge that gap for older generations? Reflecting on times I have pulled digital story materials into my classroom I know it has been a big undertaking. Students really looked to me for guidance and until they felt comfortable it was overwhelming how much help was needed from an adult. While the outcome was definitely worth the work and I loved every minute of it, I can see how someone who knows less about technology might really struggle implementing these things in as elementary setting. How do we bridge this gap?

A piece of unique terminology I was not familiar with was Affinity spaces. The text definition of an affinity space was, ““specially designed spaces (physical and vir-tual) constructed to resource people tied together . . . by a shared interest or endeavor” (Gee, 2004, p. 73). These spaces can extend across online archives or artifact hosting websites (with provision made for leaving review comments, etc.), discussion boards, face-to-face events, paper-based and guides, and the like—all of which support people in accessing and sharing knowledge.” What a great definition and mindset for people with shared interest to brainstorm and remix together! There are so many resources and outlets for information on the web. Having an affinity space in which people with similar interests can come together to investigate, share, and organize all of the information and resources is amazing to me! I would love to find a way to incorporate this effectively in a second grade classroom! I can only imagine the amazing things my kids could come up with and ways in which they could create to support each other.
Another term that stood out in my head was, “produser.” As defined by this chapter a produser is an active and productive user of content created and used by a community. Produsers use as opposed to simple consume the information and resources in which the interac. Instead of simply consuming information given they actively remix and make change using the resources they have. Their sharing of ideas and knowledge shape social interaction.

Want to see what other people had to say? Check out #ds106 and #ILT5340

