Check out the reading that inspired this response.

This article states that there is a gap between the way in which students learn and the way they live, it goes on to state unless we bridge this gap school will become irrelevant. Social context and technology has shapes our lives so much that educational systems must adapt and change in order to prepare students to be part of a world in which the expectation is they can function in a multifaceted, multi functioning, technology based world. This article states, “Students need lifelong learning skills i.e., communication and information skills, problem-solving and thinking skills, and interpersonal and self-directional skills.” The push is for teachers to prepare students to be part of the world by bringing it into the classroom. Collaborative learning coupled with technology based exposure to material and problems in essence creates a critical thinking classroom. This article introduces a learning theory known as connectivism. In this model of learning does not happen for one individual at a time, instead learning is a group activity done with peers. Furthermore in order to bridge the gap of what students know and what they need to know to be successful in our world students will need to be proficient at communication, collaboration, critical thinking and problem solving, and creativity and innovation.

In earlier posts I talked about how teaching is so much more than teaching reading, math, science etc… This article fully supports that. While state standards are important and have their place in the classroom it is also important to realize that we are paying our students a disservice by not preparing them to be members of such a dynamic world as the one they live in. The purpose of the article is, “explore integration of 21st century skills and Web 2.0 technology as well as the transforming pedagogies being fostered to accomplish this task as educators embrace the digital age.” That being said it states a teacher’s role in this should be to create an environment in which students can manage their own learning and assess their own progress. Teachers should be there to model work, exhibit knowledge in a digital and global society, model digital responsibility, and promote ethical use of digital information.

As I read this article the connections to our reading in class are innumerable! I think an ongoing theme I have talked about with numerous peers is the need for change in education. I think this article gives a lot of food for thought in that area! I kept thinking as I was reading this how can I embody this in my teaching practice to make sure that I preparing my students to be part of this fast paced, high demand world. I think this is a great jumping off point for teachers like me who are looking for way to bridge the gap between education and the actual demands of today world. I don’t know if it is the fact that I am just old enough to feel like I missed the boat on the technology era, but I always feel like I am pushing myself to stay current. I want technology to feel comfortable and inherent for my students and I do not ever want them to feel like they are having to play catch up! I really enjoyed reading this article and I think it definitely gave me a lot to think about!

 

Looking for more riveting readings? Check out #ds106 and #ILT5340

