Check out the article that inspired me this week!

This article presents the results in a study that aimed to examine the relationship between self-efficacy and life satisfaction of young adults. The article states that a person’s self-efficacy (belief that they can succeed) directly correlated to their life satisfaction. Factors such as income had little to no impact on young adult’s life satisfaction. Furthermore the ability to raise self-efficacy can result in higher ability to accomplish developmental tasks and higher life satisfaction. One thing I really liked about the article was its description or various aspects of developing adults. The introduction offers a variety of sources and theories about young adult development. One big take away from that section was the notion of, ““intimacy versus isolation” (Corey, 2005). The healthy individual has to achieve the capacity for closeness and intimacy through love or else suffer a sense of isolation that will permit only shallow human relationships.” It goes on to talk about healthy relationships being imperative to life satisfaction and a person’s ability to prosper as an adult. This is something I very much experienced as a young adult. I remember being in college and feeling kinda lonely the first few days. It was not until I branched out and put down roots in my new home that I really felt fulfillment in my college experience. I think of the skills I needed in order to build those relationships and I wonder how I can foster those skills in my classroom. I feel like as an education in an elementary school setting my job goes beyond reading, writing, math and science. I would love to be able to build my students self-efficacy in order to increase probability that they will be successful!

The article goes on to talk about life satisfaction being rooted in one’s ability to accomplish life stage developmental tasks. Check out my musings on this before even reading this article! The article goes on to give examples of young adult developmental tasks such as learning to live in a marriage or kind of relationship, starting a family (with children), and getting started in an occupation. Reflection on this notion I feel like I very much agree. When I reflect on my life satisfaction the first things that come to mind are, I am getting married to an amazing person, I am so excited to start a family (and am at a point in my life where that is possible), and I have a career that I am proud of (even though I do not make a lot of money as a teacher, I get paid in morally fulfilling ways). Going back to the results of the study, if I did not have high self-efficacy this may not have been possible for me. I never for a second doubted my ability to make friends and find a place in college. I think this positive mindset and self-assurance made it easy for me to acclimate and find the friends I needed to be successful. I also had much the same attitude toward finding a companion and one day having a family. When I compare the results of this study with me own life experience I am left thinking, “How do I inspire success to my future kids and current students?”

Dying for more great learning? Check out #ds106 and #ILT5340

