After reading chapter 1 of Sampling The New in New Literacies the thing I was most curious about was the impact the ideas within this reading presented and how they could transform the way I teacher reading and writing. Looking at reading and literacy not as a linear flat subject but as a changing application to context and meaning (derived from social practices) could have drastic effects on my teaching practices. Many of my lightbulb moments while reading this text revolved around student engagement, and how human practice is currently so embedded and engrossed in digital stories. Technology has changes the lives so much of the youth of today. As an educator I feel this progressive thinking is what needs to happen in classrooms in order to foster the strengths of the youth today. Knobel states, “There is nopractice without meaning, just as there is no meaning outside of practice” (knobel 2). What a strong eye opener which gives meaning to the ideas within this text. Educators work so hard to give meaning to the material we teach our kids. We want student to buy into what we are selling in order to inspire them to learn and take their learning in their own direction. When you think of reading as a new literacy within the confines of digital storytelling, our students already buy into this completely! Think of the increasing in meaning for them and the increase in engagement, just rooting teaching and learning into something they are already passionate about.

Having completed my teaching license through CU Denver (UCD) I am not stranger to ideas around pedagogy and backwards planning (which incorporates many of these ideas). What I loved and a big take away from Sampling the New in New Literacies was the connection to digital storytelling and all of its components. My light bulb moments were more around how I can maximize technology and resources I am exposed to in this course in the classroom. I truly put my heart into helping my student be successful, part of that is giving them the skills and know how to thrive in an ever evolving technological era. My big question after reading was how can I service my students the best and implement this in a meaningful age appropriate manner. I am so excited to embrace these ideas and really want to gain the most understanding in order to help my students grow.

I loved the discussion in the following portion of our reading that speaks about the background of readers and how that shapes the way they read, understand, and interact with a text. This is something I see frequently in my classroom. I can tell by student’s expression and questions how much they know about a topic or how interested they are in this new information. Keeping this in mind I made a connection to the following quote,” Learning to read and write particular kinds of texts in particular ways presup-poses immersion in social practices where participants “not only read texts of this typein this way but also talk about such texts in certain ways, hold certain attitudes andvalues about them, and socially interact over them in certain ways” (Knobel 2). I instantly started thinking of how powerful digital stories could be to foster these discussions and really interact with text in a more meaningful way with my students. My big question now is how will this look in a classroom of younger students?

For more information about the reading that inspired my blog check out Sampling the “New” in New Literscies by COLINLANKSHEAR ANDMICHELEKNOBEL

Check out other great learning by visiting #ds106 and #ILT5340

